top of page
Search
  • pitak74748

Start Running Slow: Here is Your Build-Up Schedule for 4 Weeks


Spring often means the starting signal to start running again. What I often see is that people start running and then they just do something. As a result, they quickly stop again, and that is such a shame. Because if you build it up properly, you can quickly experience results! That is why I share with you my tips and a build-up schedule for 4 weeks to start running well yourself.

Running Too Fast

Last year I did a basic running trainer course because I wanted to learn more about running technique. I initially did this mainly because I wanted to use this knowledge for my participants during my bootcamp training, but of course I also applied it myself. What I found out for myself is that I mainly ran at a pace and heart rate that suited interval training. So it is quite logical that I was broken at the end of endurance training.

Now I run around with a heart rate monitor. I don't use it constantly, but I check it every now and then to see what heart rate I have when I feel like I am at that moment. In this way I also learn to run based on feeling and what suits me at that moment. The only time when I really need it is at the start of an endurance run to avoid starting too fast.

Starting Too Fast is a Pitfall of Many People

Only the saying runners are dead runners comes from somewhere. Yes, I understand that sometimes it feels like you are not getting any further. I know that feeling. But then consider this: Which is better? Run slower and slowly build up or go full house and then quickly quit? I still assume that you would agree that the first option is better.

Start Slow

So when you start running again, please start slowly and don't think you have to be busy for an hour right away. For example, start with an interval of 2 minutes of walking and then 2 minutes of running. I will give you a short build-up schedule at the bottom of this blog. But my main message is to start slowly. If necessary, combine it with some abdominal exercises if you want to exercise a little longer.

Voices in my Head

When I'm running, I don't run with music in my ears. This is for 2 reasons. First of all, I notice that I run too much to the beat and then I often go too fast, which makes me break down sooner. Second, I just like to enjoy nature. I also talk to myself quite a bit. What I say to myself mainly has to do with technique and mindset:

· Slow down

· Relax

· Shoulders low

· Keep elbows close

· Forefoot

· Heels high and knees up

· Breathe out

· Enjoy


The reason I keep saying technique things to myself is that it makes me walk more relaxed. Yes, it is a bit heavier, but you are less 'fighting'. I mainly do sports because it gives me a good feeling and gives me more energy (if I don't run too fast…). When I do my endurance run, I especially want to enjoy the surroundings and run relaxed. With an interval training, I can take it a bit harder. And so I keep building on my running skills, while enjoying them in the meantime. And I want this for you too.

Running Schedule for the First 4 Weeks

With this schedule I assume that you run twice a week and that you have not run for a long time.

Week 1:

Day 1: Warm walking for 2-4 minutes. Then run 5x 2 minutes at a slow to normal pace with 2 minutes of walking in between each time. And then finish with some walking as a cooldown.

Day 2: Warm walking for 2-4 minutes. Then 4x 1 minute run at a slightly faster pace than on day 1. You walk 1 minute after 1 minute of running each time. After the 4x 1 minute run you walk for 4 minutes. Then you do the 4x 1 minute run with 1 minute of walking in between. And then you close with the cooldown.

Week 2:

Day 1: Warm walking for 2-4 minutes. Then run 6x 2 minutes at a slow to normal pace with 2 minutes of walking in between each time. And then finish with some walking as a cooldown.

Day 2: Warm walking for 2-4 minutes. Then run 5x 1 minute at a slightly faster pace than on day 1. You walk 1 minute after 1 minute of running each time. After the 5x 1 minute run you walk for 4 minutes. Then you do that 5x 1 minute run again with 1 minute of walking in between. And then you close with the cooldown.

Week 3:

Day 1: Warm walking for 2-4 minutes. Then run 7x 2 minutes at an easy to normal pace with 2 minutes of walking each time in between. And then finish with some walking as a cooldown.

Day 2: Warm walking for 2-4 minutes. Then run 6x 1 minute at a slightly faster pace than on day 1. You walk 1 minute after 1 minute of running each time. After the 6x 1 minute run you walk for 4 minutes. Then you do the 6x 1 minute run again with 1 minute of walking in between. And then you close with the cooldown.

Week 4:

This week, you grab some recovery and take a step back. You do the same as in the first week. And then you will notice that it will go even better next week.

Good luck!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page